Geoffrey’s Cafe, Roslindale

We were invited to brunch at Geoffrey’s Cafe by one of Dane’s co-workers a few weekends ago. She told us they had Disco Brunch every weekend, along with what seemed to be a magical creation called the Donut Muffin. That’s all it took for us to hop in the car and get ourselves to Roslindale.

We met up with everyone just as Geoffrey’s Cafe opened at 10:00 am. First people in, first people seated, and for a while the only people there. The decor is great and gives the place a really comfortable feel. Not to mention that I totally want an awesome wall like this in my own house one day.

funky and fun

We started with the reason we came, the Donut Muffin. They were piled high on platters on the bar, and made the whole restaurant smell amazing. We got two for the table to share because they’re huge and we wanted to have at least some room for our actual brunch. Let me just say, Donut Muffins are heavenly. Just go there and try one. You can thank me later.

donut muffins covered in cinnamon and sugar.

oh, did I mention they toast the donut muffins and serve them with butter? there are no words.

Did I mention that our waitress was FANTASTIC? She chatted with us about her suggestions, and when Dane told her I have a food blog she asked me to give her the URL so she can check it out. Then she gave us ideas of other places to try in the area. Since we really aren’t familiar with Roslindale at all, it was great to hear about some new restaurants and stores that we can explore.

The restaurant started filling up with people who seemed to be regulars shortly after we got there. Or maybe it was just that the staff was super friendly, so it just seemed that way. It took a bit to decide after the Donut Muffins and I was fairly boring with my order. Just scrambled eggs, toast, homefries, and bacon. Everyone else tried different things.

Dane's steak tips with eggs, homefries, and toast

Brittany's breakfast burrito, so big that she only had half and shared with another person

Courtney's omelet. At least I think that's what she got. I can't remember.

Joe's Scandinavian Waffles. When we go back, I'm totally ordering these.

Everything was fantastic. Food was delish, service was wonderful, easy location to get to, great atmosphere. Almost the entire brunch menu (except one item) is under $10, which makes it very affordable. Can you tell that I loved this place? We’ll definitely go back. In fact, maybe this Sunday would be good. See you soon Donut Muffins!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment